Home Forum Ask A Member 1951 Johnson rd-11

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    joshadurham
    Participant

Anyone have experience with this model Johnson? I just found one that I might buy, and know nothing about it. It’s in decent shape and is complete. I have a cd-13 5.5hp and love it.

opposedtwin
      Participant

US Member - 2 Years

I have had a number of the early big twins over the years and love them. they run great when they have good compression numbers. if it’s less than 100 lbs, you’ll have trouble getting it to idle well. they’re a bit noisier than the later models like the 1955 and newer ones. take a compression tester with you and check the compression in both cylinders. easy to work on. you’ll love it.
        scott

legendre
        Participant

I have no experience with that model, but any Johnson motor of that era should be a good bet – assuming it wasn’t abused to death. They had some decent engineers on-board.

chris-p
          Participant

As stated, they are great motors. A bit louder than the ’55 and on as Scott stated due to design. parts can be a bit more troublesome to find than the ’55 and on as well, but with the forum here it is not that difficult.

david-bartlett
            Participant

Josh,

I have an RD-16 which is the same thing, just a couple years newer. Very neat motor. Easy to work on. Ignition components and carb kits readily available.
              The way the cowling attaches makes it a bit harder to access things, and makes for some extra vibration noise, but hey, it is 60 plus years old and still going.

Make sure you run at least 24:1 fuel/oil mix, and preferably 16:1.

Here is a pic of mine with my JW-11.

joshadurham
              Participant

Thanks for the responses! The guy is set on $175.00. Seems high to me. Thoughts? He says it runs, and maybe it does, but cosmetically speaking, it’s bad. All scratched up. Can’t even read Johnson on the side.

david-bartlett