Home Forum Ask A Member 1952 Johnson Seahorse qd 13

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 65 total)
  • Author
    grunt311
    Participant

Hello
      I am new to the vintage outboard motor scene but have fallen in love with it fast. I purchased the following about three months back

1959 Freeland 14′ Aluminum boat
      1958 Johnson jw 14
      1952 Johnson QD 13

I do have a few questions though

Is there a rebuild kit for the carb on the QD 13?

When i start the motor it will run at a high idle but when i accelerate it seems to choke out and stop running. Easy to start back up but again run into the same issue. I have adjust the slow speed screw to about 3/4 of a turn out. This setting gives the smoothest running condition.

Any help would be greatly appreciated as stated above i am new to this.

Thank you, Nick

billw
      Participant

US Member - 2 Years

Not really intimate with the early QDs but in Mercury land, acceleration bog is often caused by a too-lean low speed adjustment. You can adjust them for smoothest idle and they will bog/die out. Making the low speed adjustment seemingly a little over-rich will cure a Merc, often. That being said, if you have not been into your carb yet, as well as the linkage adjustments, you should probably start there, for sure.

Long live American manufacturing!

frankr
        Participant

US Member - 1 Year (includes $3 online payment fee)

No carb kit for that motor. Never was one. You have to order individual parts. Have you tried adjusting the high speed needle? Fuel filter clean?

labrador-guy
          Participant

US Member - 2 Years