1952 Johnson Seahorse qd 13

Home Forum Ask A Member 1952 Johnson Seahorse qd 13

This topic contains 64 replies, has 17 voices, and was last updated by Avatar shoestringmariner 2 years, 4 months ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 65 total)
    grunt311
    US Member - 1 Year
    Replies: 17
    Topics: 16

Hello
    I am new to the vintage outboard motor scene but have fallen in love with it fast. I purchased the following about three months back

1959 Freeland 14′ Aluminum boat
    1958 Johnson jw 14
    1952 Johnson QD 13

I do have a few questions though

Is there a rebuild kit for the carb on the QD 13?

When i start the motor it will run at a high idle but when i accelerate it seems to choke out and stop running. Easy to start back up but again run into the same issue. I have adjust the slow speed screw to about 3/4 of a turn out. This setting gives the smoothest running condition.

Any help would be greatly appreciated as stated above i am new to this.

Thank you, Nick

billw
    US Member - 2 Years
    Replies: 1028
    Topics: 35

Not really intimate with the early QDs but in Mercury land, acceleration bog is often caused by a too-lean low speed adjustment. You can adjust them for smoothest idle and they will bog/die out. Making the low speed adjustment seemingly a little over-rich will cure a Merc, often. That being said, if you have not been into your carb yet, as well as the linkage adjustments, you should probably start there, for sure.

frankr
    frankr
    US Member - 1 Year
    Replies: 4387
    Topics: 43

No carb kit for that motor. Never was one. You have to order individual parts. Have you tried adjusting the high speed needle? Fuel filter clean?

labrador-guy
    labrador-guy
    US Member - 2 Years
    Replies: 206
    Topics: 28