Home Forum Ask A Member 1956 Evinrude Fastwin 15 Electric Starting wiring

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    fisherman6
    Participant

US Member - 2 Years

I bought a pretty nice-looking original ’56 Fastwin Electric Starting this past weekend. It needs a tune up, carb rebuild, gearcase reseal, and some degreasing, but it will no doubt be a nice runner. I have no background on this particular electric start motor, however. I was wondering if anyone has a wiring diagram for this motor. Also, is there anything in particular I need to know about this starting system. Does it require a separate solenoid box and start button? There is no wiring for a kill button so I’m assuming this motor was a "choke to stop" setup. All info and literature is appreciated. Thanks to all in advance.
      -Ben

OldJohnnyRude on YouTube

dave-bernard
      Participant

US Member

call me 1 914 310 7086.

frankr
        Participant

US Member

1956 Was a 6 Volt system. Do you plan to run it on 6V or 12V? The 6V system was similar to the 25hp. Here is the 15hp parts list and the 25hp wiring diagram. I don’t think the 15 had a mercury safety switch though. No need for anything fancy to stop it—just turn the throttle twist grip to slow/stop till it stalls.

photo hosting

screen capture tool

picture share

Mumbles
          Participant

Here’s the parts book for a ’56 Johnson Electric. It should be the same except for the hood.

fisherman6
            Participant

US Member - 2 Years

Thanks Dave, I’ll give you a call if I need some help when I really get to working on this motor. I have a couple in front of it on my list right now but I appreciate that.