Home Forum Ask A Member 1960s Evinrude 6 hp Fisherman

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    mgsolakis
    Participant

I was having spark issues on my 6 hp but I had a parts engine with a blown bottom cyl with good spark on both cyls. I transfered the mag plate from the good spark engine to the poor spark engine. But after making the switch and testing spark I don’t have spark on the top cyl. I’ve never done this before – What could have happened?

garry-in-michigan
      Participant

Lifetime Member

Most problems are from poor contact through the breaker points …
        Assuming the coils are not cracked
        . . . . 🙄

mgsolakis
        Participant

So maybe something moved in transition?

thepetrolist
          Participant

That is of course possible but you should check, check, and re-check everything on that mag plate. Set the points, check the coil gap etc. It is possible that those engines have worn in use differently which would result in for example the points opening differently.

enrico-italy
            Participant
              quote mgsolakis:

I was having spark issues on my 6 hp but I had a parts engine with a blown bottom cyl with good spark on both cyls. I transfered the mag plate from the good spark engine to the poor spark engine. But after making the switch and testing spark I don’t have spark on the top cyl. I’ve never done this before – What could have happened?

Swap the flywheels and the timing cam also…

mgsolakis
              Participant

What is the timing cam?

wedgie
                Participant

The timing cam is that lobed piece with a hole with a key way in it that that fits over the crankshaft . It opens the points as the crankshaft turns. As others have said, check the points gap, and make sure the contacts are shiny clean.

david-bartlett
                  Participant