1963 Evinrude Sportwin Shift Linkage Adjustment

Home Forum Ask A Member 1963 Evinrude Sportwin Shift Linkage Adjustment

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)

• h20lew

US Member - 1 Year (includes $3 online payment fee)
    Replies: 51
    Topics: 17

HI All,

Looking for advice on how to properly adjust the shift linkage on a 1963 Evinrude Sportwin. When I go to shift it – it pops out of forward at higher speeds. It’s not a spun prop. Took the lower unit apart and there is what appears to be wear on the clutch dog and forward gear. I’ve attached some photos. I’m not experienced in evaluating these… the clutch dog certainly seems to have rounded edges – the forward gear doesn’t seem to have equal wear to the clutch dog.

Since I plan to use this motor as my main motor on my 14′ Alumacraft, I’ve ordered a new clutch dog and forward gear just to make sure I have good parts to start from… but want to be sure I have it properly adjusted after I do the replacement.

Asking if there are any tips, tricks, suggestions and key things to look for to make sure I have properly adjusted the shifter on this specific motor.

Many thanks in advance.

Attachments:

fleetwin

US Member - 2 Years
    Replies: 4737
    Topics: 46

Yeah, that clutch dog is history and probably best to replace the gear as well.
    You will have to evaluate each and every part in the shift linkage chain to ensure you don’t have a repeat failure. Have a look at the aluminum cradle that ride in the clutch dog to see if it is worn, look for wear or distortion in the shift fork as well. Once the gearcase is reassembled, you will have to check the shift lever and bellcrank to ensure there is no slop there. Oftentimes the brass shift rod connector is misassembled causing shifting problems/damage.
    Once everything is back together, there is a fine adjustment on the shift lever that must be checked to ensure full engagement is being achieved in forward gear.