Home Forum Ask A Member 40s Johnson and Evinrude

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    kevinrude
    Participant

I’ve been toying with the idea of getting a PO-15 and maybe an Evinrude SportFour.

So, other than the obvious stuff (e.g. compression, rust in tank, etc.), what specific things should I be looking out for in these motors?

For example, I know that with Speeditwins you have to check the flywheel as they had a tendency to throw them. Did the SportFour have a similar problem? Are there any parts of the PO-15 that are typically missing and/or hard to find?

Thanks. Just trying to know a little bit more before I go shopping!

Mumbles
      Participant

I’m no expert on those motors but I did adopt a PO-15 a little while back. It had been sitting for years in a shed with no cap on the tank so the kids filled it half full with dirt so check to see what’s inside the tank! The tank didn’t rust because it’s aluminum but it did corrode thru a bit on the bottom and it took a while to get it shiny clean inside again. The gearcase had zero water in it with fresh clean grease. The coil didn’t check out right so that got replaced. The carb float was wrinkled up and separating so I made a new one out of two modern floats which I’ll post in the Members Only section later. The motor has good bounce and the pistons and cylinders look great and the missing tiller came with it but wasn’t attached so the only parts missing to make it complete would be the spark plug covers. Also check the thumbscrews as they tend to seize up over time.

PO 15 as found.

Starting to cleanup well.

Most important, everything inside looks good.

jerry-ahrens
        Participant

US Member - 1 Year (includes $3 online payment fee)