Home Forum Ask A Member 51 sportwin 3.3

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    elysium
    Participant

Hello,

I am new to outboards. Never owned one till now.

Twice now this happened to me. Just picked this engine up at a rumage sale. Got it in the water. Started it, ran it for a few minutes, shut it off. Did this a few times. Longest run was maybe 10 minutes of 3/4 throttle. Pulled in to another bay to fish and slowed the motor down then off. When I was ready to leave, I could not pull the recoil out. Took recoil off, could not turn the flywheel. Recoil moves fine. Got out the oars. Tried one more time and she started. Went home.

Second time out, same exact scenario. After a few starts and stops, went to start and could not pull out recoil. Got out the oars and rowed back. Tried a few more starts and could not get recoil to move.

Got it home. Took out plugs. Could not pull over. I was able to turn flywheel with a wrench. After that the engine moves freely, although occasionally it will have slight resistance but then frees up again. Drained lower unit to make sure there was enough oil. Then I filled it back up with 90W lower unit oil. I have not run it since.

I’m not sure where to start. Got a few opinions from guys at work. One said the lower unit shaft is not strait and is binding. I want to try putting an additive like sea foam in to see if its just sticky, bad gas. Someone said penetrating oil sprayed in the cylinders and let it sit. I’m running 24:1 in it right now but its from my ice auger so not the freshest.

Thanks for any advice!

Michael
      Participant

International Member

My first guess is the engine overheated. Did you verify that it was pumping water at asny times? Do you know when the impeller was last changed? If not it is always a good idea to change when you acquire a new motor

elysium
        Participant