Home Forum Ask A Member '57 Fastwin reed question

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Steve Martin
    Participant

US Member - 1 Year (includes $3 online payment fee)

I’m an experienced mechanic but am brand new to 2 strokes. The manual says there should be a gap not to exceed .010 between the end of the reed petal and the plate. I have no clearance at all on any petals. What problem, if any will this cause? The reeds appear to be otherwise in good condition. Thanks

crosbyman
      Participant

Canada Member - 2 Years

it is probably a “limit not to exceed” so the downstroke of the piston will be able to close the reeds shut ensuring the crankcase pressure will expel all burnt vapors from the cylinder via the cyl. exhaust ports instead of spitting it back out the carb face…should the reeds be opened up .

the important aspect is that the reeds actually open to let the fresh fuel vapors into the crankcase and not back out.

my understanding of it anyway….. so it looks like your reeds are fitted perfectly

Joining AOMCI has priviledges 🙂

• This reply was modified 5 years ago by crosbyman.
        frankr
        Participant

In a perfect world, there will be no gap under the reeds. Sounds like you said your prayers and live in a perfect world.

Steve Martin
          Participant

Thanks for the replies. My question is due to the manual stating the petals should not be in contact with the plate but with no more than .010 gap. I didn’t make that clear.

frankr
            Participant

Get a new manual.

fleetwin
              Participant

US Member - 2 Years

Never heard that one before! Don’t mess with that reed plate…Loosening, rotating, flipping reeds over in an attempt to make the perfect fit usually ends up with broken reed petals…
                Why is it that you have the reed plate off to begin with?

garry-in-michigan
                Participant

Lifetime Member