Home Forum Ask A Member Advice on a DVA Peak Voltage Meter

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    seakaye12
    Participant

US Member - 1 Year (includes $3 online payment fee)

I am looking for advice in preparation to purchase of a good DVA (Peak Voltage) meter….so I am able to properly test stators and switchboxes and the like. I currently have a Harbor Freight P98674 DVM. Perhaps I can add a DVA adapter to this or maybe I need to get a different meter with the feature built in. I would appreciate knowing what you use….and/or what you would recommend.

Thanks, Chuck

Harbor_600

frankr
      Participant

Being old school, I never owned one back in the days when I was twirling wrenches for a living—-nor did any one else. But in more modern days things are better now. Anyhoo, I still don’t own a “real” one, but I did cobble up an adapter. The actual parts cost less than a buck, plus however fancy you want to get as far as a case, test leads, etc. The circuit floats all over the Internet. Here is one version. I will say that people go nuts over the capacitor, tending to use one that is way too big. The one I used is only 0.2 ufd and it works for me.

dvacircuit

• This reply was modified 4 years, 7 months ago by Mumbles.
        Mumbles
        Participant

I recently purchased this DVA adapter to use with one of my multimeters and I believe it max’s out at 400 volts which is enough for any CD ignition components I ever work on. I still haven’t used it so I can’t really say much about it except it was a cheaper way to go instead of buying a peak reading voltmeter.

https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B0093U3TFG/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o05_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

DVA-Adapter

frankr
          Participant

My only question is since it plugs into the “COM” and “DCV” jacks on your multimeter, is there a standard spacing between the jacks?

crosbyman
            Participant

Canada Member - 2 Years

just a question …