Home Forum Ask A Member cork floats

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    june
    Participant

I’m new to working on outboards and just rebuilt the carb on a 1973 Evinrude 9.5. The original float was cork and the rebuild kit came with an identical cork float. I did the rebuild before I joined AOMCI so was just Googling for info at the time and read that the cork should be coated with a fuel proof epoxy of some kind due to the ethanol in todays gas which would eventually break down the cork. I ended up using a light coat of West Sytems GFlex epoxy. I’m just curious if cork floats are common in older outboards and what others do the protect the cork from ethanol?

RICHARD A. WHITE
      Participant

Lifetime Member

Cork floats were indeed prevalent in the older outboards. One can use model airplane "dope" as it is called. It was used and still is when a model airplane builder would lay the covering over the wings and the body. The "dope was then used to seal the covering and it was then more rigid, almost airtight and best of all fuel proof. One needs just the clear model airplane "dope", and just dip the float, let it dry, and maybe dunk it again. Keep in mind that the hole thru some floats will get filled up with the product and need to be opened back up.
        Btw, welcome to this fine club.

Regards

http://www.richardsoutboardtools.com
        classicomctools@gmail.com

crosbyman
        Participant

Canada Member - 2 Years

I had a fun time finding airplane DOPE locally ( I did eventually)

I have read lots of comments about and… tried Krazy glue .

Couple of coats brushed all over the float has worked for me.

DO NOT INHALE the stuff ! Keep fumes away from the eyes and ventilate the work zone

Joining AOMCI has priviledges 🙂

june
          Participant