Home Forum Ask A Member First Water Choke

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    bill-mcnamara
    Participant

Canada Member

I am going through a friend’s RDS-24, trying to revive his late Dad’s gently used motor.
      It has the "automatic choke" feature,of which I have no experience.
      Were these chokes reliable? Should I just leave it alone until I see if it functions?
      I will be replacing or repairing the choke’s vacuum line though, as it appears that a mouse had a little snack on it at some point!
      The water lines to the choke seem soft and pliable, and look quite usable.

Fuel lines are a different story as expectedl, hard and brittle and will definetly be replaced.Too bad our little "rodent snacker" hadn’t taken a chew on these lines instead?

Any advice or opinions gratefully received.

Bill.

rvpapasso
      Participant

Bill,

I am running the water choke on my 1960 40Hp Johnson and love it! However it must be in working order in order to fall in love with it. The vacuum pull-off must be checked to ensure it releases the choke. The thermal spring must also be free to move as the cooling water gets warm and of course a proper working thermostat. I picked up my 1960 40Hp over 19 years ago and never had to fix anything regarding the water choke.

frankr
        Participant

US Member

Well, I can’t argue with a success story like that. However…an awful lot of those things did not work that well. Most people wound up opening the door and put it on auto choke or manual choke to start, then flip it to choke off position after it starts. Maybe our sub-tropical climate has something to do with that?

As a side note, the cooling water thermostat has to be working if there is to be any hope of the automatic choke working.

rvpapasso
          Participant