Home Forum Ask A Member Folding Lightwin, seized upper driveshaft splines

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    fleetwin
    Participant

US Member - 2 Years

I have never worked on one of these “folders” before, at least not on the gearcase or folding components. I got this 1966 folding lightwin along with some 58 Lightwin parts recently. Seems like most of the parts are there, except for the ignition…. I found that someone was in the middle of trying to remove the powerhead, but looks like the upper driveshaft splines are seized/rusted into the crank. I am curious as to why/how this was discovered. Needless to say, the gearcase would still come off and could be worked on. The seller was very concerned about being “safe”, I left the dough in his mailbox, he left the “stuff” in the yard for me to pick up.
      So, I am wondering if there is someway of “releasing” that coupler/upper driveshaft from the exhaust housing so the powerhead can be removed without sawing off the upper driveshaft. I looked at the parts breakdown, but it doesn’t reveal much about how those pieces are retained in the exhaust housing. None of my OMC manuals cover the folding units….Thanks Don

The Boat House
      Participant

frankr
        Participant

US Member

I am thinking there is some sort of bushing in the section between the hinge and gearcase, but that’s about all I remember. Too many years, too many tears.

fleetwin
          Participant

US Member - 2 Years

Yeah, I remember my buddy’s 69 4hp, it chewed up the splines ever few years….Was too young back then to realize the importance of the oring and moly lube… In this case, the splines didn’t spin out, they are seized. I guess I am wondering what prompted whoever it was to attempt to pull the powerhead only to discover the seized splines, perhaps there was a cooling issue.

I will have to look more closely at the “coupler”, perhaps someone has a shop manual for a folder and can post the instructions….