Home Forum Ask A Member Johnson 35hp RD19

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 22 total)
  • Author
    tyson
    Participant

I am restoring a 1956 16.5 ft lyman and have acquired a 1957Johnson 35hp RD19 that I would like to put on the back of it.

What I am hearing is that the RD19 model is going to be a nightmare of a restoration cost-wise and complexity-wise due to availability of parts and the complexity of that specific model (pressurized tank…etc..?.) and could get into the thousands on cost.

Anyone have any experience with that motor? Does that sound right? The engine has been sitting for quite some time but it is NOT locked up and seems like it has compression (cord pulls and get a little grumble). Are there any similar year models Evinrude/Johnson that would be better targets to restore or have restored?

Thanks! I am a newbie with engines and any guidance is much appreciated..

fleetwin
      Participant

US Member - 2 Years

Where did you hear that the RD19 is a nightmare? Most all parts are still available, except for cosmetic things. There are many of these engines around, shouldn’t be hard to find even the cosmetic stuff, especially in this club. Thousands to rejuvenate this engine is ridiculous as well, provided the powerhead and gearcase are sound.
        It is hard for me to give you a recommendation, you claim to be a newbie with engines, so I don’t want to recommend you take on this project without some qualified "help". I do not recommend letting a repair shop do the work, that WILL cost plenty of money, and most of today’s outboard techs have had next to no experience with these engines.
        There is nothing wrong with the pressurized tank system, parts and used tanks are available. For those who prefer the single line tank system, it is relatively simple to convert this engine to use a fuel pump/single line tank. I am assuming this engine is manual start, finding good wiring harness’ can be difficult.