Home Forum Ask A Member My First Project

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    wyo307
    Participant

First off I would like to say hello to everyone and introduce myself. My name is Ryan and I hale from the great state of Wyoming. I am a youngster among most of this group at only 24. I am an engineer and love to tinker with things which is what got me into this hobby not to mention that I love water and fishing and all that jazz.

Now on to my project. I recently was given a 1947 evinrude sportsman 2hp. It was my best friends grandfathers and it sat out in the back of an old boat for who knows how long before I stumbled across it. Consequently it is in pretty rough shape (Tank is dented badly, missing the side plates, broken tiller handle, ect.) although it still has good compression. I have ordered some of the missing/ broken parts already but am having a really hard time finding a pull start handle for it. I believe the original number for it was 171369 but I’m not sure.

As I start to tear into this motor I would love any advice that can be offered by anyone with experience with one of these motors. My first order of business is to get spark again, then pull the carb and clean it thoroughly as well as the rest of the fuel system. From there I’m not sure where there.

Anyways thank you in advance for any help and I can wait to hear this old girl fire up again.

chris-p
      Participant

Doug Penn would be a great source for parts. I highly recommend him.

Google his name for his website.

bobprock4200
        Participant

US Member - 1 Year (includes $3 online payment fee)