Home Forum Ask A Member My Seized Johnson A2109

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Greg Lewis
    Participant

I am new to the AOMCI and have a 1922 Johnson outboard (A SN 2109) obtained from my neighbor. His father bought it new and has been sitting for at least 70 maybe 80 years. It is seized. I have the Johnson Repair Parts catalog (PN 13-629) and the 2nd Ed. of the Johnson Outboard Service Manual.There is some slight movement when I move the flywheel and with the muffler removed I can see the pistons move very slightly. Given this, I thought it best to try to check the water pump 1st. I was able to loosen both ends of the 5″ water tube as well as the pump itself. Not sure best way forward. I would greatly appreciate any ideas on the best way to remove the water pump and perhaps unseize the pistons themselves if the pump is not seized. Earlier I tried putting Marvel oil in each of the horizontal cylinders, but it leaked out. The pistons were below the exhaust port. Any help and ideas would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

P1100772cm

P1100773cm

dave-bernard
      Participant

US Member - 1 Year (includes $3 online payment fee)

ARE YOU SURE IT IS THE POWERHEAD SEIZED AND NOT THE LOWER UNIT.

Greg Lewis
        Participant

Not sure. Best guess is the lower unit. What is the best way to remove the lower unit especially the pump. Thanks for your earlier reply.

stanley
          Participant

US Member - 2 Years