Home Forum Ask A Member Mystery Inboard Twinn Engine?

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    fifty20ne
    Participant

US Member

A friend needs help identifying this antique twin cyl inboard eng.
      Anyone know the manufacturer? or the year of production?

Thanks in advance for the help,

Bob

” target=”_blank”>
      ” target=”_blank”>

bill-loveland
      Participant

I don’t recognize it, but I’m no expert.

These guys are: http://www.oldmarineengine.com/discus/m … /3454.html

Mumbles
        Participant

Here’s a couple of similar ones. The first one is a Wilson but I don’t know what the second one is.

Attachments:

eviltwin
          Participant

Ya, some of those old inboards are also works of art from a bygone era. Those pics show the potential for sure.
            I found a link for a site that caters to these beauties much the way this site has a wealth of info about outboards. You could try there as well.
            http://www.oldmarineengine.com

joecb
            Participant

US Member - 2 Years

Bob, I can’t help with identifying the engine but I recognize the cast iron carburetor, it’s a Zenith for a Model A Ford car. I strongly doubt that it belongs on that motor. Also, the galvanized pipe that it’s attached to sure looks like it’s on the exhaust outlet of the muffler.

Joe B

amuller
              Participant

Interesting item. Would like to see what’s behind the shield on the port side. It seems to have a timer driven by a pair of spur gears, so what’s the purpose of the bevel gears and vertical shaft behind the flywheel? Is there a water pump anywhere?

On looking again maybe that "timer" is a gear pump and the vertical shaft is for a missing timer–as in both restored engines.

Would usually expect a plunger pump on something of this vintage, but…..

bill-loveland
                Participant