Home Forum Ask A Member Newbie Questions Restoring 1957 Johnson 18hp FDE-11

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 54 total)
  • Author
    jimmy
    Participant

Hi All,

I’m a newbie to antique outboards and was recommended to this sight by an AOMCI member, Travis.

I recently completed building a Glen L Squirt http://boatbuilders.glen-l.com/squirt-design/nggallery/squirt-design/Squirt-built-by-Jim-Young,-Brighton-MI and I’m powering it with a 1957 Johnson 18hp FDE-11. I bought the motor before I started on the boat, and a friend helped me get it running. It starts easily, runs fine, and looks good on a mahogany runabout. I am in the middle of restoring the motor mechanically and cosmetically, and have a few questions…

I have the motor torn down, and have identified most of the parts/gaskets I need and ordered them from Dan in TN. The motor has 115psi compression in each cylinder, and there is no scoring of the pistons. So, I hope to not have to crack open the crankcase. The coils were replaced by the previous owner, but the plate is covered in oil, so the top seal will be replaced.

First questions, I removed the top oil seal and noticed some black areas on the crankshaft. I thought this was just the disintegrated seal, but it is pitting of the crankshaft under the seal. Can I get by without replacing the crankshaft, or is there a way to repair it? Will the new seal last if I don’t? I checked the bottom of the crankshaft, and the carbon seal is fine, but the internal quadrant ring will need to be replaced, and there is no sign of rust.

Next when I removed the power head from the lower unit, there is no baffle plate (P/N 0304589). According to the parts diagrams, there should be a plate between 2 identical gaskets. Do I need this plate for this motor? I searched around here and on other OMC motors it looks like this may not be necessary. Is this true for the FDE-11s?