Home Forum Ask A Member Onto a new learning curve…CD ignition

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 32 total)
  • Author
    johnyrude200
    Participant

Hi guys,

I’ve started up the hill to learn more about CD ignition. I understand the basics; charge coil, ignition sensor, out to the powerpack, and then out to the two coils. My issue is that I feel much like I did when first learning about how to fix magnetos about a year ago. I have been reduced to trial and error because I don’t think I have the right testing equipment.

Going by the service manuals, they call for a continuity meter, neon light tester, voltmeter, and spark tester. I am not an electrician, so some of the terminology is still new/unfamiliar to me.

I have both a digital and analog multimeter and a spark tester. I have gotten along far enough to test the charge coil and ignition sensor for resistance and shorts using the analog meter (manual explains how). My issue is figuring out how to test the regular coils and powerpack. I do own a merctronic, but the newer coils, of course, don’t have a range to them I am aware of (unless these are specified in more recent service manuals).

I think I’ve just gotten lucky so far (just starting to move into the 80’s/90’s/00’s motors). In most cases, it’s been a simple powerpack swap, coil swap, or faulty wiring/bad ground in any of these components.

I’m stumped because I have a motor where I installed a new powerpack (or I believe it is…it was NOS), made sure all connections were good with good grounds, and during initial cranking got weak/intermittent spark (more on one lead than the other) and now there is no spark on either. My beef is that I don’t know how to trace the problem back to the source and identify it.