Home Forum Ask A Member Problem with my float

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    wyo307
    Participant

Hello everyone,
      Last night I went to finally try to start up my 1947 evinrude sportsman 2 hp. It did start after maybe 5 or so pulls! Pretty cool to hear an old girl fire up after its been sitting for over 30 years. I did notice that the float was not popping up which was causing the float side of the carb to flood and gas was coming out of the top of the carb where the float rod comes out the top of the carb when it is closed off. This was also making it to where I couldn’t idle down very much. What would cause the float not to push up? My first thought is that it is not buoyant enough anymore, could this be the case? It looks to be in pretty fair condition and not much of the coating is missing. There is also a screen underneath the float rod that I guess it could be getting stuck on? This is my first engine so I am still new to these old style carbs so I need some insight by someone. Here is a diagram of my carb.

Thanks for your help,
      Ryan

joecb
      Participant

US Member - 2 Years

Likely that the float is OK. How about the little brass clips (120813) ? The bottom one must be clipped into the groove in the needle stem and the top one pressed down tight to the top of the float. Other that that, not much can go wrong. Very unlikely that the float is so contaminated that it would sink in gasoline… test it in a bottle of gas, if you have doubts.

Joe B

garry-in-michigan
        Participant

Lifetime Member

Those floats are sealed with shellac which is dissolved by the alcohol in todays fuel. This allows fuel to be absorbed by the cork, making it less boyant. The trace of fuel that is left also leaves traces of shellac as it evaporates that can stick the float pin in place. An afternoon in the hot Florida sun will usually bake out the fuel so the cork can be re-sealed with fuel proof model airplane dope or Superglue.