Home Forum Ask A Member Some Pictures of my first old outboard

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 22 total)
  • Author
    wyo307
    Participant

Hello all,
      As some of you may know I recently was given a 1947 Evinrude Sporstman 2hp model 4416. I thought that I would take some time to share the progress that I have made with this little motor and say thank you to everyone who has helped with all of my questions thus far.
      This first picture is how I found it laying in the back of an old boat covered in leaves and dirt. Luckily being up here in Wyoming we have very low humidity so there was almost no rust to be spoken of.

It sat there for about a year after I discovered it before I finally brought it home and put it on the stand. As you can see it was in pretty rough shape with a lot of the parts either missing or replaced by the incorrect ones over the years.

I tore into this thing not really knowing what to expect but being an engineer I enjoy working on things like this so I figured it would be a good hobby. This next picture is of the lower unit after I had removed it and taken the prop off. There was about 30ft of old fishing line wrapped around the shaft and the lower unit itself was extremely dirty not rusted just dirty.

This shows all the pieces laid out as I was starting to put them back together. I had already reassembled the clamp bracket, tiller handle, lower unit, ect.

Now these next two pictures are of the motor about 90% assembled. Amazing what a little elbow greese can do for a motor. I cleaned every part by hand (I don’t have a parts washer) before I put it back together and it really doesn’t look bad the way it is now. So now the big question do I go ahead and paint it back to the original look or do I leave it the way it is? I also am waiting on a few more parts to arrive from Doug Penn so that the recoil starter will work as well as some miscellaneous parts/hardware here or there.