Home Forum Ask A Member TN26 resurrection

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 59 total)
  • Author
    vikkip
    Participant

Greetings. I am brand new to outboard motors and don’t even have a boat, but I inherited a 1950 TN26. Overall it’s in really good shape but was put away 50 years ago with carb issues which didn’t heal themselves over time. The spray from the overflow port coated the whole powerhead and upper shaft with fuel mix. It had been neglected so long that everything is still original, which I appreciate. I’m not looking to do a full "restoration" at this time, just to restore it to good operating condition so I can clamp it to my father in law’s little rowboat in place of the also horribly neglected Clinton 5hp that can’t go upwind without rowing assistance.

The carb was full of tar like goo, oil, and varnish. I’ve successfully and carefully cleaned it thoroughly. The diagrams all seem to show that there should be a brass tube in the primer pump but there is no sign that one was ever present. The leather seals are good and pliable, they were submerged in oil and actuating the plunger gives a nice puff of air through the ports.

How do I safely clean the tubing and "Y" and slow speed needle? I can’t dismantle it.

The fuel tank had been left full but had drained and evaporated to lead oxide dust, which protected the tank from rust. I removed the filter and petcock and cleaned all pieces. I dried the tank for 24 hours in my egg incubator at 100F which did no harm but thoroughly dried the seams.